Vegan advent calendar 2nd Dec – Home-made mincemeat

No, not the meaty kind of mincemeat. The kind to make  mince pies with, of course! The perfect thing to get you in the mood for Christmas, if you weren’t already (I refuse to start being Christmassy until December!). Home-made mincemeat can be put in cute little jars to make an adorable present, if you’re not planning on turning into mince pies, obviously 😛

The recipe below is based on a recipe from  a cookbook my Mum was given in the late 60s/early 70s, when she was first married. It has lots of amazing traditional recipe in it, I’m absolutely loving the challenge of turning the recipe into vegan versions. The book is by Marguerite Patten and is nearly falling apart, it’s seen so much use!

mincegift

Seriously, how cute are these?

It is very easy to substitute ingredients in the recipe, depending on what you have in the cupboard. For example, the original recipe calls for mixed peels, but I had none, so I used chopped candied ginger instead. Feel free to swap and change any ingredients you please and don’t forget to let me know the results of any experiments 🙂

ginger

Chopped ginger

Ingredients – makes roughly 4 jars

125g Vegan suet or margarine  (I would recommend suet if you are giving it as a gift, margarine does not make the most attractive mince. I used marg in this vesion, so I apologise for the photos!)

1 grated apple

125g sultanas, raisins etc.

125g brown sugar

125g nuts (I used chopped almonds)

75g chopped candied ginger

Zest and juice of one orange

1 teaspoon mixed spice

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

4 tablespoons of amaretto (or alcohol of choice)

mincemix

Mince is very easy to make, just as simple as combining all ingredients and putting them in jars. If you are planning to keep the mince for a longer amount of time, make sure to sterilise your jars and seal them with wax discs and cellophane. The alcohol in this recipe also helps with preserving, but the book says you can substitute it for orange or lemon juice, but your mince won’t keep as long.

I have a theory that people who say they don’t like mince pies have only tried supermarket mince pies, not home made mince pies! Or said they didn’t like them as a child because the filling was brown and/or had fruit in. Please give mince pies a chance, they such a yummy British tradition. What’s your opinion on mince pies/my theory? 🙂

5 thoughts on “Vegan advent calendar 2nd Dec – Home-made mincemeat

  1. I think you’re right about possibly being put off in childhood. I didn’t really like them until I tried my friend’s mum’s pies that had glace cherries and big chunks of hazelnut and so looked a bit more interesting and were less vine-fruit and molasses tasting than the ones I’d tried before.

    I’ve never tried to make my own mincemeat, should really give it a go.

    • I’m basing my theory mainly from one of my flatmates at university – as a child she said she didn’t like anything that wasn’t white in colour (except chocolate) and her parents let her get away with it. To this day she maintains she doesn’t like any of it, but I think she would surprise herself if she actually tried it.

      Cherries sound interesting in mince pies! Really any kind of dried fruit should work in this recipe. I thought about adding dried apricots to mine, but decided to stick with something a bit more traditional.

  2. Pingback: Vegan advent calendar 3rd Dec – vegan gift guide @ Lush | My Yorkshire Pudding

Leave a Reply

