The Vegan Kind – 1st box review

vk8

Some of you lovely people may remember when I posted about The Vegan Kind last month. Well, I did subscribe and their first box arrived at my door a few days ago. Yay! For those that don’t remember, The Vegan Kind is a monthly vegan lifestyle subscription box, that sends you lots of different vegan goodies to sample.

Moving on to the box. This month I was sent some lovely sweets from Goodygoodstuff, QI tea sample, soap nut samples, miso bouillon, a recipe for vegan leek and potato soup by Vegan Vox, The Vegg vegan egg replacer, Salt of the earth vegan deodorant and a cute badge  by Koolbadges.

 

Goodygoodstuff Sour Cheery Cherries

vk5

Needless to say the Goodygoodstuff sweets were munched on straight away. They were sour cherry flavour and definitely yummy. I love sour sweets so there were right up my street.

The pack was a small 25g pack and I munched through it fairly quickly, but it would be a nice sized snack pack for children and without all the nasty bits founds in other sweets.

These might have just made it onto my list of favourite vegan sweets and I’ll have to look out for them in the shops 🙂

The Vegg vegan egg replacer

I must admit, I’ve got a pack of this in the cupboard sitting unused. I bought it to try making vegan omelettes, but whenever I bought the tofu necessary to try, I always ended up using it for something else. Vegan omelette is still something I’ve not found a substitute for and with the good things I’ve heard about The Vegg in omelette dishes, maybe this second pack is good motivation to start experimenting. I’ll keep you posted on how it works out.

Recipe card

The recipe cards will be featured in each box, with a recipe card holder coming in week 3, so sign up before then if you want to start collecting them. This month’s card was slow cooker leek and potato soup by Vegan Vox. I’ve been getting out the slow cooker more and more as the temperatures continue to drop, so this winter warmer recipe has come at the right time. I love the fact that I can just throw it all together in the morning and then I’ll have a lovely warming soup by the evening. I’m definitely looking forward to trying this recipe 🙂vk6Soapnut sample pack

This is a product that really interested me. I have never even heard of soap nuts before, they almost sound too good to be true. A completely natural, organic, vegan washing powder alternative. It’s also hypo-allergenic and biodegradable too, because the “detergent” comes from shells of the nuts, which contain saponin. Saponin produces a natural soap and all you do is put the required amount of shells in the provided muslin bag and put it in the washing machine or use it to hand wash. It’s also a natural clothes softener. My Mum didn’t believe me when I said this, but she certainly hasn’t complained about the results. They are also cheaper then a lot of other laundry products on the market.Check them out here.

I’ve not yet tried the concentrated liquid or the soap that was included in my sample pack, but I’m definitely looking forward to it. There were no soda crystals included in my pack, which apparently were meant to be there. I believe these are to help with stain removal , but I’ve already got plenty of bicarbonate of soda, so I’m not missing them too much.vk11Koolbadge TVK bonus badge

A cute little badge with the TVK logo on, made by Koolbadge.  Koolbadge is an English company  and hand make all their cute little badges. Materials are sourced from the UK and everything is recycled where possible. The owners are vegans too. Check them out at koolbadges.co.uk

vk9Miso Bouillon paste

I’ve used Clearspring products before, but not this particular one. Apparently this stock is a mix of miso and vegetables, so it can be used in non-Japanese dishes as well.

Miso is a nutritious food, which I really like the taste of. Annoyingly, when I went to Japan, most food had fish or eggs in, so I always look for vegan version here in England.

I think a simple vegetable soup will be my first dish to make with this, just to try it.

Qi tea samples

vk4

I was sent 1 tea bag each of Organic China green tea, Green tea plus and white tea with goji berry. I used to work for a shop selling tea, so I’ve tried a fair few different types and have a large-ish collection in my cupboard. Even more than Ramona Flowers, but don’t make me list them all 😛 

As I’m writing this, I’m brewing myself a cup of green tea plus, which is a blend of green tea and various berries. There’s a nice fruity aroma filling up my kitchen and the tea is a medium-deep golden colour. The flavour is light with a fruity, citrus taste (I told you I used to make  a living selling tea haha). I can definitely taste blueberry and pomegranate coming through, so if you’re a fan of either of those in teas I’d suggest this to you and I think I’d happily buy this tea again for myself.

I’ve had the white tea and goji berry before. For those that have never had white tea, it is similar to green tea. However, it goes through less processing before it makes it into your cup and contains even more anti oxidants than green tea. If you don’t like green tea, I’d recommend trying white tea as the flavour is a lot lighter and subtler. If you get one blended with berries, the flavour will be more fruity then tea-y. This particular blend of white tea is nice enough to drink, but as I’m not a super fussed by the taste of goji berries, it’s not something I would drink very often.

I’ve not yet had the green tea, but will update when I have done 🙂 I’ve got plenty of green tea in my cupboard which needs using up first though, as tea will eventually start to lose it’s flavour if not used up, as I found out by trying a year old earl grey, which tasted of nothing. This may be because bergamot oil is fairly perishable, but I’m not sure on that one ( I know little about it other than it’s in earl grey)

Salt of the earth unscented deodorant

The salts in this product act as a natural deodorant when applied to damp skin. I’ve only used it once but it seems to work well. Certainly better than the last natural deodorant I tried and it is a lot less messy too. I like the fact that this is unscented, as I do go through phases of being completely addicted to different perfumes.

It should be noted that it is a deodorant, not an antiperspirant.  Antiperspirant stops sweat, deodorant stops odour. I’ve yet to find a vegan antiperspirant, if anyone has any suggestions I’d love to hear them.

Well, that’s my summary of the first Vegan Kind box. I’m very happy with it and look forward to next months box. Did anyone else get the box? What did you think of the products? Will you be continuing your subscription?

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Vegan Kind – 1st box review

  1. I didn’t get a box but was very tempted too, and I am no longer unemployed (AT LAST!) so maybe now I have a good excuse to splurge 🙂 Great post as always!

  2. Pingback: Join | TheVeganKind | The UK’s First Monthly Lifestyle Subscription Box for Vegans | My Yorkshire Pudding

Leave a Reply

