Top 10 vegan halloween treats

First things first, you can now Follow my blog with Bloglovin. Moving on…

Autumn is definitely my favourite time of year. Summer is fine and all, but autumn wins hands down. There are so many amazing colours, flavours and textures around at this time of year, not to mention Halloween and (my favourite) Bonfire Night (yay!). With that in mind, I’ve put together this list of some of my favourite (vegan) sweet treats for your Halloween festivities.

Oh, by the way, the pumpkin just below is mine from last year. I never carved a pumpkin as a child, but now I find it a fun excuse to use pumpkin in lots of recipes, haha.

hallo

1. Sweet vegan marshmallows

These vegan marshmallows come in oh so many yummy flavours and are perfect for Halloween. Made in England, with natural colours and flavours. I’m oddly addicted to the caramel marshmallows, yum yum. Has anyone ever tried their mango flavoured marshmallows? I’m intrigued.

2. Bear yoyos

If you want something a little healthier, without actually giving out fresh fruit (not a bad thing), try Bear yoyos. I emailed the company to ask about their products and they said that all their fruit products are completely vegan (yay). Also, while their products are made all over the world to get fruit that is in season, their head office is in London.

3. Neals yard wholefoods mini bears 

I love these mini bears! I used to snack on them all the time when I worked across from H&B. Perfect for putting in a sweet bowl and handing out to trick or treaters. The only downside is the relatively small packets for the price, but they are oh so yummy. Available at Holland and Barrett.

4. Peppersmith tingz

For a sugar free treat, try these tingz, a gum product accredited by the British Dental Health Foundation (shuuuush! Don’t tell the children). The come in orange + mandarin and strawberry + vanilla varieties. Also, as a Yorkshire lass, I truly appreciate their online shop name http://ebuygum.peppersmith.co.uk/. Hehe, e buy gum, heh *smirk*. Made in UK.

5. Goodygoodstuff cola breeze

Traditional cola bottles, now veganified, what could be better? Natural ingredients and recyclable packaging, that’s what. Luckily, goodygoodstuff has got that taken care of.

6. Freedom Marshmallows

Cheaper per pack than Sweet Vegan, but currently only available in vanilla flavour (strawberry flavour coming soon). However, they are nut free, gluten free and again made with natural flavours and colours. They might be more suitable for topping hot chocolate with as well, but I’ve not tried to do so with either brand. If anyone has, let me know. Some kind of spooky vegan Halloween hot chocolate might be in order :). Head office in Manchester.

7. Fabulous fudge factory

Delicious vegan fudge, this stuff is seriously amazing. I used to take packs of the stuff with me into college and work and everyone would be munching on the stuff, non-vegans included. It’s super creamy, fudgy fudge 😛 If you haven’t tried it, it is definitely a must! They also do coconut ice, which is yumtastic, but with a much sweeter taste (my sweet tooth doesn’t mind at all). Made in England.

8. Hotel chocolat dark chocolate skulls

For something a bit luxurious, try some of the themed chocolate shapes from Hotel chocolat, a British company. These dark chocolate skull lollipop look seriously spooky, but perhaps reserve them for party guests and not the neighbour’s kids. You could also try their tiddly vampires or the dark chocolate boo box.

9. Neal’s yard wholefoods pontefract cakes

A bit of traditional liquorice won’t go a miss. My Dad loves these. According to wikipedia (the source of all, probably factual, knowledge) these were originally called Pomfret cakes, after the old Norman name for Pontefract. Anything originally from Yorkshire gets my vote. Available from Holland and Barrett or try your local independent health food shop.

10.  Over to you! What’s going in your vegan sweet stash this Halloween? Chocolate, biscuits, hard-boiled sweets, fresh fruit? Let me know in the comments below, I’d love to hear about any other vegan sweets, particularly those from the UK 🙂

9 thoughts on “Top 10 vegan halloween treats

  1. Lots of yummy vegan food, and people say you have to give stuff up when you make the switch!
    My mum came home VERY excited last week as our local Health food store had freedom marshmallows and I have been looking for literally years to find some, she got a packet of vanilla and a packet of strawberry and they are amazing! I have managed to show restraint and left lots so I can make rocky roads this week.. 🙂
    I didn’t know about 3/4 of these so I have now got a new excuse to buy some sweets for ‘testing’ x

      • They were really good, I know the shop just got them in that day. I think I prefer the vanilla ones though.
        I accidentally ate a marshmallow when I was about 7, and I have craved one ever since and to me they tasted just like I remembered when I had 1 vanilla and 1 strawberry at once (like the twisted gelatine ones you get), but my memory was a little hazy back then. My brothers girlfriend said they were better than the regular ones so that’s good praise too! 🙂

  2. I usually get Starburst to give to trick-or-treaters, as they’re vegan, familiar and not too expensive. I’ve sometimes offered the Elizabeth Shaw chocolate mint discs in the past, although they recently changed their packaging info regarding milk traces so I’m not sure if they’re still okay ( think it went from “may contain…” to “contains”).

    • I believe some people prefer to avoid Starburst as they are owned by Wrigley/Mars (who for some reason test on animals, don’t ask me why), even though the Starburst products themselves contain no animal ingredients.

      It all boils down to the parent company argument. I’ve seen Sunny from VBR argue that it is the same as ordering a veggie dish from an omni restaurant, which is a valid point, but some people won’t go near products that are anyway related to non-vegan companies. What’s your opinion? 🙂

      (now you’ve got me craving Starburst too :P)

      • Having looked into it all the information on Mars animal testing seems to be from years ago. Perhaps they have stopped and are now cruelty free? Do you know anything about it? I’ll research it a bit more and see if I can find out 😀

      • Well, I buy things from supermarkets that also sell meat. I buy clothes from companies that also sell leather, shell and wool. Even though I would prefer to only support small businesses run entirely in line with my own ethical views it’s quite difficult to do in practice, especially on a very tight budget, and is not possible for me at the moment. For a once year event I don’t think either my purchase or boycott of Mars products is going to make a difference, and I like it when mainstream companies state their products are suitable (although I’d prefer it if they said on the packaging rather than just the website). So, I will continue to buy Starburst at the same infrequent rate as long as the ingredients remain vegan.

      • Yes, I agree, it is very difficult to avoid companies that don’t sell non-vegan products. All the reports about Mars are from years ago so it might not even be applicable any more.

        My friend and I bought Starburst all the time in college. We once emptied the entire vending machine of them, to eat as we did a presentation. We had such a sugar high our presentation ended up being, uh, unusual at best 😀

Leave a Reply

